100 Questions: Day 2

What do I need to say that others have left unspoken?  

There’s something about when a person passes on that makes you replay all of the memories you’ve had.  All the conversations, all the outings, even the stolen glances that the other person wasn’t aware about.  Death has a way of clearing up perspective and priorities.  Now, I haven’t figured out why that is, but the recent death of a close friend’s dad has bridged a 6-year gap between friends.

You could call us the “Three Amigos” in high school; we were always together.  We laughed together, cried together, went on vacations together, and really were there for each other like girlfriends should be.  Then Life came between us.  I went down South to college, which left my other two friends together.  I won’t say I was the glue that held them together, but I was the buffer.  By the time I came back from college, their friendship was severed (in the most cliche way possible; a disapproval of a guy one was dating) and we didn’t hang out anymore.  When I was reached out to be a part of an upcoming wedding, I would sit and feel odd.  Here I was, a bridesmaid and our mutual friend, our best friend, wasn’t even considered to be a part of the wedding.  Neither wanted to speak about the other in my presence; which made me feel like a traitor and disloyal for wanting to stay out of their quarrel.

But now the Bride has suffered a loss.  Her father, the one person she wanted to walk her down the aisle this summer, just passed.  And the years of silence between mutual friends dissolved.  Tonight will be the first time all three of us have been in the same room together in over 6 years.  I can’t tell you what will be said tonight, if anything.  I don’t know if they’ll walk away being the friends they use to be.  Hell, maybe they’ll be better friends to each other now.  But tonight, the only thing that should be said is, “I’m sorry.”

daughter of swordsTarot Card of the Day: Daughter of Swords. This card is led by honesty and being insightful.  The daughter learns from keen observation and people appreciate her frankness. She never stops watching, which can turn into obsessing over every little detail.  If left unchecked, this can result in bitterness.

Leave a comment